“Your Computer Was Locked” Pop-ups (Microsoft Scam)

How To Remove “Your Computer Was Locked” Pop-ups (Microsoft Scam)

The “YOUR COMPUTER WAS LOCKED” pop-ups are a social engineering attack that puts your browser on full screen and display pop-up messages that won’t go away, essentially locking your browser. These fake error messages aim to trick you into calling an indicated technical support hotline. If you call these scammers, they can offer fake solutions for your “problems” and ask for payment in the form of a one-time fee or subscription to a purported support service.

These “YOUR COMPUTER WAS LOCKED” alerts are nothing more than a scam. Don’t call the number in the pop-ups. Microsoft’s error and warning messages never include a phone number.
Microsoft does not send unsolicited email messages or make unsolicited phone calls to request personal or financial information or fix your computer. Treat all unsolicited phone calls or pop-ups with skepticism. Do not provide any personal information.

via How To Remove “Your Computer Was Locked” Pop-ups (Microsoft Scam)

Hit esc button

Hit control/alt/delete

Exit and sign out

Shut down your computer and restart it

Do not open any previous windows

Run virus malware programs.

Delete any programs that may have created this malware or adware.

 

One thought on ““Your Computer Was Locked” Pop-ups (Microsoft Scam)”

  1. thanks!
    I have not had that happen and am happy with this anti-virus thing from
    malwarebytes.com … they do not screw up all your interior files like some big companies.

    Like

Comments are closed.